What I’ve Been up To

I was telling a friend only yesterday that I have to figure out why I’m not blogging as much lately. It bugs me to no end but can’t seem to get the drive.

That’s not to say that I haven’t been doing art…oh NO!  I decided not to do any challenges or have any extraneous commitments for pieces that have hard and fast deadlines….at least not until the new year. I needed to relax a bit (took that to an extreme here I guess). Instead, what I have done is stuff that I consider “ME” stuff.

I told you already that I signed up for the Fibre-in-Form online workshop and I am loving it. In this first part I get to get messy with molding paste. It was like playing in the mud making mud pies. I got that stuff all over my hands. Who the heck needs gloves!

These first pics are the different substrates I used: muslin, canvas and artist mounted canvas (for the life of me I can’t find the piece of Timtex I played with.  If I find it I’ll post it later).

First, I gessoed the pieces to create a smooth surface then either slapped on some molding paste or pushed the paste thru a stencil. I AM LIKING THIS!!! For the first pic I pressed some sequin waste into the paste and got this cool honeycomb-like pattern; for the 2nd one I pressed a flower rubber stamp into the slathered paste (not really a good photo, sorry) and on the last,  I used an architect’s circle template on an artist canvas as the stencil.

What happens now is I get to add colour to each one but that will come in a later lesson. Although……………………I just couldn’t resist. I got carried away and painted the artist canvas…..painted a few of the circles different colours then swooshed the bright red across the surface with a squeegee. Playing for the sake of FUN. How fun!

Love all the raised areas. Molding paste, if put on thinly can be sewn on the machine so I will attempt to sew the two fabric pieces I did…….on my old Kenmore for sure. My stitch reg Bernina will not see this mess…..just in case.

Now I am working on some pieces with embossed wallpaper and couched threads. Because I am working small, no larger than 8x 10 for now, these new textural techniques I’m trying are fairly easy to get done. Last chapter in this lesson has us working with Tyvek. Yum!

See ya next time “in the Hayloft”,

3 Responses to What I’ve Been up To

  1. karoda says:

    oh grace! these look like fun! my wheels are turning…what would happen if you put strips of fabric crunched into the paste as part of the design?????

  2. kyra says:

    Hello – Just learned about your blog, very interesting. I know what its like to have the on and off days for blogging! Do hope you visit at:
    http://www.BlackThreads.blogspot.com

    Best, Kyra

  3. I think we all need downtime from placing ourselves into too many challenges. There just seem to be so many that sound like fun but then you get overwhelmed. I tend to join online groups and then don’t find the time to get involved because I am busy working on gifts or swaps. You are smart to limit it at this time of year. The holidays will sneak up on us sooner than we expect and no one needs a bunch of undone projects stressing them out.

    I’ll be interested to see how these actually do with the sewing machine.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

