New Work

harvest-moon2

“Under the harvest moon,
When the soft silver
Drips shimmering
Over the garden nights…”      –Carl Sandburg

~

Our Guild logo is the sailboat to coincide with our name, Lake Norman Guild. One of the themes for a guild challenge this year was “Sailing under the Harvest Moon” (which also happened to be the name of our Quilt Show this past weekend).

Harvest Moon detail

Instead of using the whole theme though, I decided to concentrate just on the harvest moon.

In my research I learned that the harvest moon is the fullest moon occurring closest to the autumnal equinox.

An equinox, which happens 2 times each year, occurs when the centre of the Sun spends about the same time above and below the horizon at every location on the Earth.

Therefore the night and day are equally as long with no long period of darkness between sunset and moonrise.

The moon shines brighter, takes on a beautiful golden hue and looks larger than it appears because it sits so low in the sky.

It is so very bright at night that farmers work thru the night harvesting their crops working bymoon detail the light of the moon, hence the name “Harvest Moon”.

To depict this larger than life phenomenon, I painted 2 different Stewart Gill metallic paints along the edge of the hand dyed gold fabric, creating the illuminating moon.

fence detail

Using a silver grey Caron D’ache crayon, I extended the haze of the light around the moon and onto the field of wheat to show some reflection.

The thing that stumped me for a bit though was the fabric we had to use in our finished piece.

Originally I cut leaves out of the fabric to float on water (sailing theme) but they really looked out of place. In the end I liked the way I used it to portray a suggestion of a fence line across the field.

The quilt measures 20.5″ x 17″, a small piece again but the smaller size enables me to try out new techniques without committing to larger pieces.

I have been told lately that my work is taking on a particular “style” (big smile here) and that’s definitely something I’m striving for, to create a body of work that represents the essence of MY creativity.  I’ve got much more work to do to reach my goal and, in fact, I am a part of the year long SAQA Visioning Project to help me move forward.

~

See ya next time “In the Hayloft”,

 

 

5 Responses to New Work

  1. I have great admiration for your Artwork, Grace.

  2. Thanks Isa…it’s nice to know that.

  3. bailey says:

    I have been reading your website for some time now and I LOVE the things you do. I also appreciate it when you can take the time to tell us more about the things you make. I really enjoyed your research into the harvest moon. Thanks for sharing it. And I think the quilt is just wonderful!

  4. Vicki, what a wonderful note from you…thank you so much. I, too, like a process to be explained (if not completely then at least in part) so I try to include it in my posts if I can.

    Surprisingly, once I knew where I was going with “Harvest Moon”, it came together quite nicely and I truly love the simplicity of the piece.

  5. Stefanie says:

    I just found your blog searching for images of crops at night. I love this little quilt! great image with such force and luminescence!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

