Wedding Guest Book

My friend, Delane,  had asked me to make a wedding guest book for the marriage of her son Ted to his bride Lauren.

I really wanted to make a special gift especially for Lauren, she’s the photographer who took those wonderful pictures of my work a while back. Her favorite colours were red, orange and brown and colours of the wedding were in the Fall colour range.

I had no idea where to go with this at first and took some time mulling over a few ideas, I remembered that she wanted me incorporate the words “our wedding, underneath the trees” in her wedding book so I started with that.

tree-stencilUsing a Stewart Gill stencil from their Flowers of Scotland collection, I reduced its size and cut out a new stencil out of freezer paper.

After ironing it to a piece of white silk dupioni, I painted it with Stewart Gill Brass Gold metallic paint.

I now needed to get Lauren’s words on the fabric. Because I don’t have access to a thermofax machine, I decided to try a new product

ez-stencil-wedding-bk

I had recently bought, Photo EZ silk screen. This was way cool and easy to use.

Photo EZ sheets are made from a silk screen mesh coated with a light sensitive water soluble polymer.

Using a saturated black image printed on plain white paper, it only needs sunlight and plain tap water to develop. Off I went and developed 3 separate screens for the front of the guestbook.

guestbooklauren9 The silkscreen was taped down with masking tape (above) and metallic paint was squeegees through the mesh with the edge of an expired credit card.

I added Lauren and Ted’s names to the front of the book as well. After drying, I was now ready to make the book.

Cutting 2 boards for the front and back, I covered them both in the silk dupioni.guestbooklauren3

For the spine of the guestbook I used two coordinating batik fabrics and staggered them on the left edges of the boards.

Lasty, I glued a passion red bookcloth (afterall, they are newlyweds aren’t they?) on the inside for the lining.

I cut papers for guests to sign and then decided to add some black cardstock so they guestbooklauren5can also add pictures to personalize their book. It was finally coming together.

Using a Japanese stab stitch method, I sandwiched the papers in between the covers and stitched the book together, tying a gold ribbon at the spine edge for a touch of embellishment. I named this one “Beneath the Trees”.

I wrapped the guestbook in my signature brown paper and tied a red ribbon around the gift.

guestbooklauren

I was very pleased to hear that Lauren squealed with delight upon opening  the package.  Check Delane’s blog for some pics of the absolutely beautiful bride Lauren made….and Ted looked dashing too!

~

See ya next time “In the Hayloft”,

2 Responses to Wedding Guest Book

  1. elizabeth says:

    Grace,
    The book is so beautiful! Such a keepsake.
    I’ll remember you when it’s my kids’ turns.
    Liz

  2. Oh, it is gorgeous! I’m bummed that I didn’t get to see it in person. What a special gift.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

