My Muse on the Shelf

My art group decided last year to come up with a different project for us all to work on…we all made dolls.  Now I never played with dolls growing up (I kid you not…my mother still has the only doll I EVER played with for 3 short months she says).

So this was a chance for me to bring out the inner child. Well, come to think of it, I’m always trying to do that when I create, let my inhibitions fall by the wayside and work intuitively.

I picked a LARGE doll to make (pattern was impulse purchase at QBL last year..why oh why???) and the poor girl has sat on the sidelines more than she’s been worked on. Now I love the splendiferous dolls that are made by doll artists worldwide, especially the over-the-top beauties by Arley Berryhill (his dolls zing with bling), but nothing was happening, I just couldn’t get my mojo going on this at all.

The deadline for her completion loomed near and I still wasn’t feeling her vibe. I took her down, sat her on my sewing table and just looked at her.

Nothing! Still!

Sometimes when I need inspiration I turn to my regulars…those blogs I read regularly and invariably end up checking out the links on their sidebar.  I saw a box that someone was showing off on their site and it hit me…

Be! the Muse Doll

……she’s a water goddess of the woods…. and her name is BE!

She isn’t finished.

I still have to paint her face and I plan to add some silk leaves and beadwork to her body. I did add a billowing skirt made of strips of fabric and tulle just tied onto her waste.

Finally…..

…she’s ALMOST done. Okay, maybe not. She did make it in time for the deadline but, alas, she was not completely dressed….the little hussy!

She will sit high on a pedestal (that I still have to make, paint and drape) and she will look out over her water in the woods and say….

“Ahhh……LIFE!  (took her long enough)”.

When she’s completely done, goddess attitude and all,  I’ll post her true unveiling. Until then,
See ya next time “In the Hayloft”,

3 Responses to My Muse on the Shelf

  1. She looks wonderful. Seeing as how I was a real doll lover as a child of the kind you can be mama to, I’m not a big fan of art dolls as some get pretty wacky. I like the ones with character though and a purpose that shows like your “water goddess of the woods”. Will you show a close-up of her face after you paint it?

  2. jmquilts says:

    Are you sure you don’t do dolls? As your Water Goddess is quite stunning!! 🙂 (I don’t do dolls either. 😉 )

  3. Susan says:

    Love her! The crown thing on her head reminds me of coral or seaweed. The fabrics you chose are fabulous!

Leave a Reply

