Standing S T I L L

Standing Still detail

There much to be said for standing still,
listening…
being…
contemplating silence…
and really S E E I N G all that the universe has to offer.

New Direction

My artwork has taken a turn. I seem drawn to create mixed-media/collage art on artist canvas. I have always love looking at paper, seeing the textures and, of course, eventually purchasing that paper. When I enter a craft store I am inextricably drawn to the scrapbook paper aisle and usually take a stroll down the aisle down to try to spur ideas for my art quilts. In an art store I like to touch the wonderful papers others make (mulberry, rice, etc.) then it dawned on me I can use them in my work along with fabric. Who says I have to make scrapbook pages, right?????

Anyway, my new favorite things are gel medium and the oh-so-gorgeous Golden Fluid Acrylic paints (and no, I haven’t forgot my Lumieres). Some of you might know that I treat myself to a book a month…mainly reference books of ideas or processes (not books with patterns in them). Two that have caught my eye are “Taking Flight” by Kelly Rae Roberts and “The Art of Personal Imagery” by Corey Moortgat. Both offer kinda the same thing but in oh so different ways.

Kelly Rae’s book is more introspective with an intention of helping you find your own artistic spirit. Each chapter features a different artist and goes on to tell how they explore their own creative paths.  Kelly poses questions to the reader at the end of each chapter called “Winged Thoughts” then heads into techniques to inspire and experiment with.

Corey’s book gives you a myriad of ideas for telling stories of your life (or those of your loved one) thru collage and, in doing so, giving your artwork more personal meaning. She openly shares stories of her family life with the reader..the joys and the sorrows… and tries to personally connect us with the artwork that comes from this.

The Poem

Why the poem at the beginning? An excerpt from chapter 4 in Kelly’s book begins: “…look closely at the moments of our ordinary lives….find the sacred in the ordinary…” These words resonated with me so much that after finishing Corey’s book, I had to make a piece to voice this same sentiment. This one is called “Standing S T I L L”.

Standing Still

My first love will always be fabric but I can now employ the two fibers in my work and be a happy gal. How’s your art journey going?

See ya next time “In the Hayloft”,

4 Responses to Standing S T I L L

  1. Karoda says:

    Hi Grace, I love the scrapbook papers and art papers also and have some that I’ve been “saving”. I expanded my interest into altered books but haven’t done anything in a while with them and I also want to try making dolls but that is on hold. So many ideas to try but only 2 hands, sigh…:)

    Keep having fun!

  2. Timaree says:

    It sounds like you are coming out of a slump. Why not have more than one way of doing art? It keeps you from getting stale besides being a lot of fun. Hope to see some of what you come up with. I like your poem page you share here.

  3. kelly rae says:

    thank you so much, grace 🙂

    love what you’re doing!
    warmly,
    kelly rae

  4. Kate says:

    Hi Grace,
    I recently purchased Kelly Rae’s book and find it very inspirational. My business partner and I have been designing quilts mostly for beginner and intermediate quilters but I find myself needing to spread my wings a little. I really enjoy your musings and seeing what you are doing. I too love paper- love all the textures, colors- it’s a lot like fabric!
    Keep creating!

Leave a Reply

