Christmas Gifts

This year one of my art groups decided we’d make something for our secret Santa gifts instead of buying something for that person. So I decided to do the same for the girls in my other art group as well.

I thought and thought and thought, and thought some more then racked my brain even more before I finally came up with the perfect gift. Can you tell I find it hard to shop for people? It’s my own fault because I feel the need to get (or make) something for that person instead of giving a generic gift that anyone can get.

So off I went to the craft store to buy my supplies like I minded doing that right?. Full disclosure here,  we picked names back in September (did I just reveal that?) but, as I obviously like a challenge and seem to work more effectively when there is a deadline in play (like the true procrastinator I am), I only decided to start making these gifts last week. They were due Monday and Tues of this week……HA!

lushorns-journal1 lushorns-journal-2 lushorns-journal-3

If you knew my friend Lu’shorn you’d know anything pink with ladybugs would fly with her.

susans-journal susans-journal-3 susans-journal-5

Susan’s loves anything turquoise and this one includes a small bookmark notebook in one the journal’s pockets.

delanes-journal1 delanes-journal-2 delanes-journal-3

And this one is for my esoteric, Bohemian-like friend, DeLane, who makes fantastic art. Loved making this art tag for her!

I read my books on technique (I do have a few and I feel NO shame in admitting it, so there!) and put my own twists on each and came up with some beautiful pieces, even if I say so myself.

The fun part is these gifts utilize my new re-discovery (?) of PAPER and I get to assuage my guilt by using some of all those wonderful fabrics I STILL have in my stash. Didn’t I tell you I’d find creative uses for them?

I have wanted to make a couple of journals just to try out different techniques and see if I really like making them. And if I did, I’d finally have something I wanted to make on a regular basis for my Etsy shop which I set up oh-so long ago. I found I’m not one for mass producing things and didn’t want to get stuck in a rut with whatever I sold on Esty.

DID I EVER HAVE FUN!

First of all I love, love, love buying the paper…..remember I said I’d drift into the scrapbooking aisle first to look at all the gorgeous papers? Now I have a legitimate reason to buy them (oh no you say…heck yeh I say!)

And what about all the new gadgets I’ll have to I may be purchasing (hubby is ready this blog now so I have to be careful) like the guillotine. Oooh la la. Every respectable bookbinder needs one of those babies!

I have now found a local source for paper and bookbinding supplies (thanks Susan) cause I like to see and touch and lollygag over what I want to purchase. I can’t tell you how it frustrates me when I can ONLY purchase something online…the waiting does me in.

So I am off and running….as soon as the hip mends that is (that’s for another posting for sure) and will be making up some more journals.

See ya next time “In the Hayloft”,

4 Responses to Christmas Gifts

  1. I think the making of these little gems was just as much a gift for you! Grace, you are truly a mixed media artist. Wishing you a wonderful holiday season and a creative, healthy 2009.
    best,
    R.

  2. gracehowes says:

    Absolutely the best of the holiday season to you and your family as well Rayna. And yes, making these were definitely a bit of fun for me. Thanks so much for commenting.

  3. Timaree says:

    Those look like great books and I’m sure they were well received as gifts. I certainly understand the dislike of making things in mass production. Not only that but timetables take the joy out of creating although being a procrastinator like you, when I have a timetable I wait till the end and then rush like mad.

    Have a very Merry Christmas. I am outta here tomorrow to go see my grandkids! Give that naughty pup a hug for me.

  4. Karoda says:

    Girl, you are rocking and rolling with the paper 🙂

Leave a Reply

