A Special Handmade Journal

judys-journal-1

I had to let you see the journal that started it all.

The one I made a for a very special friend. She was my pick for the FAB secret Santa gift exchange (BTW, this one measures 8 1/2″ x 5 1/2″) .

For the journal’s cover and inner lining I used two different rust batik fabrics that cover hard binder boards on the inside.

judys-journal3

Judy’s journal contains 4 signatures ( see I know bookbinding speak now…cool huh?), filled to the brim with beautiful writing paper, 90 lb water colour paper (cause I know she loves to paint), 70 lb bristol drawing paper and funky scrapbook papers.

judys-journal-2


The signatures are hand sewn to the spine and, for fun, I tied a fringe of colourful ribbons to the stitching  and glued down four large beads  on the front.


judys-journal-3

The journal when closed is wrapped with a caramel coloured suede cording attached at the back cover. Love this kind of closure!

I so hope she enjoys using it cause I sure had fun making it for her.

Happy Journaling !


See ya next time “In the Hayloft”,

4 Responses to A Special Handmade Journal

  1. Rev Deb says:

    Love this journal. Very nice combination of things in it. If your friend doesn’t love it, I’ll take it! LOL! I like the added touch of the buttons on the front cover and ribbons and beads on the spine.

  2. Hi Grace!
    THANK YOU so much for visiting my blog and your nice comment! You are so kind!
    I’m totally LOVING this handmade journal . . . WOW-WEEEE!!!!! What a GORGEOUS piece of art!!!!!

  3. gracehowes says:

    Thanks Michi and Rev Deb, gotta keep making that art don’t we?

  4. […] you know, this past Christmas I made journals as gifts for my friends. I so enjoyed making these gifts that I thought…mmmmh…. others […]

Leave a Reply

