New Artwork/Working in a Series

red-moon2

For those of you who might have thought I gave up the goods when it comes to my art quilts…..

…uh uh…

….you would be wrong. I still love to create pieces with my handdyes and batiks fabrics.

Above is my latest piece called “Red Moon“. My daughter saw this and commented…..”you seem to be working in circles lately Mummy”.

Wow!

A series and I didn’t even realize it! Thanks Ms. Cheney, my darling only daughter.

planetary_spin

Here’s another…


…this one is called “Planetary Spin”. It was originally made for the recent SAQA auction but I missed the deadline for submission (naughty girl!).

You be that won’t happen again.


And NOW, the one I can finally show  you that won Judge’s Choice in the “My World in Black and White Revisited” exhibition put on by Fiberarts  Connection of Southern California. This one is called “Mother Love“, with detail shot below (blue border is just to show clearly against blog background).

mother-love-1 motherhood-detail-2

This quilt will be traveling for two years as a special exhibition and one of the venues it will travel to is the Mid-Atlantic Quilt Festival in Hampton, Virginia in February (which is very near where I live…whoopee!) . I hope to get there to see it hang in person. How very ,very cool!

I have a few more circle quilts that I’ve made but don’t yet have pics of them. Soon…soon.



See ya next time “In the Hayloft”,

3 Responses to New Artwork/Working in a Series

  1. Karoda says:

    Hiya anc super CONGRATS on the recognition for Judge’s Choice! All three pieces make me long to get back to my workshop. I just decided to wait until the holidays are over and son and man go back to school and work. Happy to hear you are still in the fabrics 🙂

  2. Elin says:

    love that red moon!

  3. gracehowes says:

    Thank girls. Just gotta keep dabbling and creating. I have a feeling that that’s not the end of that red moon.

Leave a Reply

