….I’m B-a-a-a-c-k!

But not so happy.

Let me ‘splain things a bit ….I had on my to-do list last week to back up my files….photographs got done before Christmas and now I had scheduled the time to do my documents…finally!. In the meantime I was having issues with HP printer for a few days and computer was running real slow (computer couldn’t see printer on network….again) so I decided, in order to help the computer a bit, to clean it up and remove some of the gunk that had accumulated……cookies, temp file, contents of recycle bin (this last one was not good).

Little backtracking first…..the previous week I noticed that a copy of “My Documents” ended up in my photos file. One of the 1st commandments of Grace’s computer is no photo files and documents files shall mix!!! So I deleted the file that immediately went to my recycle bin and left it at that. When I went to my anti-virus software to clean up a day later, I clicked the button to remove all that gunk and it went away to do its stuff.

Last Friday, days after the antivirus software had done its job (so very excellently I might add), I when to retrieve the stamp carving workshop write up that I was teaching the next day and couldn’t find the file.

Pop-box said “NO SUCH FILE EXISTS” silly woman……no matter how many times you ask me to get it out for you”.

Can you say P-A-N-I-C !!!!!!!!

Went to get other files and noticed that ALL my files had disappeared. WHOA!  Little did I know at the time that the copy of “My Documents” I found in my photos file was not a copy of the whole file but was the actual file, with over 200 word documents (patterns, invoices, website files, presentations, etc.), that had been inadvertently moved to the photos file (how? when? why? I don’t know)…….. so…. NO other copies of my documents existed. Remember what was on my to-do list for this week……make back-ups of all my word documents! Ugg!

Did I mention that, the printer disappeared….again…..from the computer. Oh what a night I had last Friday. Left message for my computer guy and when he called on Tues he said to shut down the computer right away cause the more I used it the more my files would be overwritten and less and less of the files would be able to be retrieved. By that time I had been using the computer, like normal, for 4 days.

My guy came yesterday to fix me all up and…….I have some good news……he upgraded my memory and so my computer runs faster BUT….alas…..all files have been lost FOREVER!!!!! The anti-virus software had wiped out the memory of those files completely.

So today is a retrieval of sorts or rather trying to make a list of what I remember to be in the “My Documents” file. I am such a careful person when it comes to my computer, checking and rechecking before I hit ANY button but…….just this once….this ONE time I didn’t do that.

Oh well…moving on….

Moral of this story……BACK UP YOUR FILES…….regularly….please!

See ya next time “In the Hayloft”,

4 Responses to ….I’m B-a-a-a-c-k!

  1. Timaree says:

    Oh Grace, that is too bad about your files. I heard on the news this morning that a new worm is going around. Could it be the cause of putting the folder in the wrong place? I sure hope you have a better memory than I have. I wish you the best of luck in retrieving the files from your own memory.

  2. Oh, my dear. I feel terrible about your loss. I once lost all my business records for a half year and had to re-enter them.
    Somehow my IT guy was able to find all the rest of my stuff.
    We do have an automatic backup thing now (separate box) and I hope it is working. I won’t know until disaster strickes.

  3. jmquilts says:

    Oh how sad! I’m sorry!!! I know I need to get an external back-up. I just haven’t stopped to do it. Thanks for the reminder.

  4. Christine says:

    I am so sorry about your files, Grace!! After I read your email to FAB I immediately backed up my files!! I have decided I am going to write it in my dayrunner as a weekly task. Thanks for sharing your story so we can all be reminded!!

Leave a Reply

