Passion for What You Do

Let the beauty of what you love be what you do.
–Rumi

This quote by the Prussian poet and mystic, Rumi, is one I use at the end of my lecture presentation “Evolution of a Quilt Artist: The Life and Times of a Quit Addict“. One of my missions as a fiber artist is to encourage and  inspire others to be their own creative selves and to do the things they love to do no matter the neighs from others or their own personal doubts.

brown-suede-fleurs-5 brown-suede-fleurs-4

Here’s my latest journal I finished 2 days ago.It measures 6″ x 4.5″ and is filled with lots of beautiful papers. The cover  is a luscious brown ultra suede that I painted with brilliant green Lumiere paint, hand stitched french knots and a simple running stitch. To add a bit of sparkle I beaded  the flower centers on the front cover. I loved how it turned out.

And……it has been SOLD.

Last night I went to my evening guild meeting (Lake Norman Guild) and showed them my latest creations, telling them I am so hooked on making these new kind of art pieces. truly believe they are a part of my creative spirit.

As the journal was being passed around a wonderful friend just stroked the cover, looked up at me and told me she wanted it for herself.  I was awestruck. She wrote me a cheque right then and there. Needless to say I was very thrilled.

blue-vintage-journal-3And I was thrilled even more when another guild member, clutching my Blue Vintage Journal (at left), told me me in a very plaintive but serious voice that she “just had to have it”.

WOW! Two journals sold…just like that. Rumi has it right. Do what you love to do and everything else will follow (gremlins are chomping at the bit to get to me for that statement but I won’t let them spoil my fun).

I am on the right path…for me.

Don’t forget to check my Etsy store for new pieces.

See ya next time “In the Hayloft”,

3 Responses to Passion for What You Do

  1. Timaree says:

    Yay! Sold! Good for you. That is a beautiful book too. One to treasure for sure. I like how the binding goes all the way around and stitching on the cloth is a great touch.

  2. liz says:

    ok you should have let the guild know that you would sell the beautiful journals! Everyone would have been fighting over them!!!

  3. Christine says:

    Wow, Grace! They are GORGEOUS!!! I think I might have had to fight someone for the ultrasuede one if I was there!! Follow your passion!!

Leave a Reply

