Charms and Cloth, Paper, Scissors

Today was a wonderful Pandoras day. We met at Susan‘s to make charms, an idea she got from Elin Waterston’s article in the Jan/Feb issue of Cloth, Paper, Scissors (CPS) magazine.

pandora-charms

Alison, DeLane, Susan DL, Michele

The six of us (Michele, Alison, Susan DL,  DeLane, Susan & me) played all day creating, laughing, talking and being together. First up was “shrinky dinks”.

Do any of you remember working with this when you were younger?

We each made a few and watched in fascination, with lots of hooting and hollering, when they shrank up in seconds in the toaster oven (sorry, no good pics of those).charms4

Next we painted some wooden disks (at right) with Lumiere paints….some of us glued down small pieces of fabric but I decided to stamp an organic design.

charm71The last type of charm Susan had us try was painting and stamping on clay. This I had a ball with!

I stamped the black clay (above)  then rubbed copper pearl ex powder on the raised surface.

Think I will set this on a square of copper metal to use as an embellishment for one of my journals.

charms21susan-reading2The one that really got me going was the piece on the left. I stamped it, rubbed on the powder then scrunched the top to create a fan like effect.

Before I baked it, I inserted a toothpick to create a hanging hole for the black cording I will insert later.

The colour of the clay is actually black with a minty green Peal Ex powder rubbed on. The photo just doesn’t do it justice.

One surprise Susan had in store for us was the book “The Sneetches” by Dr. Suess.

the-sneetches

She read from the actual book she had when she was a little girl and we were tickled to have her read it to us as we worked. Isn’t that a cool idea?

What a wonderful story it was and one that I had never even heard of before. And here it was I thought I had read all the old Dr Suess stories.

Don’t know if I’ll be participating in the CPS swap but I definitley will be using the pieces I made today.

And……another day of fun was had by all.

See ya next time “In the Hayloft”,

5 Responses to

  1. liz says:

    I’m so sad that i missed today with such a wonderfully talented group. Nothing better dare keep me away next month!!
    Liz

  2. gracehowes says:

    We missed you Liz!

  3. Patsy B says:

    Oh my!!! beautiful and so much fun. Patsy

  4. is there such a thing as too much fun??? what a great idea, all the way around.

Leave a Reply

