Newly Dyed Fabrics…Oh My!


Two weeks ago, just after we had all that weird snowfall (who knew our area could still get inchies??) it got real warm…warm enough to sleep with the windows open…ALL night!

I had been aching to dye some fabrics but since my set-up is in the garage (one of these days I’ll have in an indoor wet studio, so hubby promises), I have to go along with the disparities in the weather.

Last week we got some real warm 70+ degree weather and my heart skipped a beat.

1st-batch-setup

Time to DYE!!!!! Yippee!

Luckily for me, my order of new dyes had just come in so I grabbed my apron and had at it with a vengeance. My new dyes included chartreuse, pumpkin spice, moss and turkey red among others. I decided to dye straight colours in a medium hue to get the true colours for my dye log.

Wellllll………I got carried away. I did dye those sets (below) but before I could remind myself to cut off some swatches I decided to overdye them. As you can see there’s a bit too many white areas in those fabrics for my liking.

1st-batch51

So I get to work and this interesting lot  is what I got (below)…..boy was I scared to see what they looked like after the final rinse.

overdyed2

~

But look….overdyed-batch

…how beautiful they are. Will be adding these to my  Etsy shop tomorrow. Wait till you see them close up!

I also did a 3-step gradation (the way Lisa Call does hers) with the same colours as before but this time added about 2 oz of black dye to each dye concentrate. These beauties are what I got.

YUMMY!

black-dyed1

Love, love, love to dye.

By the way, If you want to gather a few friends for a day of dyeing just drop me a line. Check my website (www.redbarn-studios.com) for more information about workshop prices.

See ya next time “In the Hayloft”,

2 Responses to Newly Dyed Fabrics…Oh My!

  1. jmquilts says:

    Oh how yummy!!! And with the black added in… wow! Love the fabrics. 🙂

  2. Karoda says:

    these are beautiful, grace. i’m looking forward to dyeing soon myself.

Leave a Reply

