Snow Indulgence

~

When’s the last time you indulged in a luscious, dripping, lick-before-it-melts snowcone?

Swirled with red and orange and maybe yellow?

Sorry, this post is not about that so you guys can stop drooling now.

But……I have discovered a new thing.

It involves ice….and dyeing…and is called……(drum roll please)…

SNOW DYEING!

What a very cool concept you say?

I don’t know how I happened upon this snow dyeing jag but in my regular nightly jaunt thru webland, checking out  what my fellow bloggers are up to, I happened upon this snowing dyeing thing.

Too late for me I thought. The snow we had that would have worked perfectly because, remember…we got inches this time….was all melted.

My gosh, will I have to wait until next winter when there is no guarantee that we’ll get any coverage?

Or ask friends from Australia to send some up in the our summer months (winter weather for them) and hope it doesn’t melt by the time it gets to me (yeh right!!!!)

What is one to do when you let the snow outside melt before you’ve discovered your new thing?

You get out your smoothy machine (that makes great pina coladas) and crush that ice.

snow-dyeing snow-dyeing21

Necessity is the mother of invention much? I had no idea if it would work but I was willing to give it a try. I soaked the yard of fabric in a soda ash solution for 20 minutes, scrunched it in the bottom of the dishpan then dumped the ice over it (no other way to describe it folks).

I crushed enough ice to have at least 1 1/2 – 2″ of snow completely covering the fabric.

snow-dyeing3

Now for the fun part.

snow-dyeing4

Squirt the dye on the ice…yes….I said on the ice like above. I used my new dyes—–turkey red, citrus yellow, with little squirts of chartreuse and chocolate brown.

The concept with this is that as the ice melts the dye drips onto the fabric. Because the fabric is scrunched up underneath the ice you will get this fantastic mottled effect all over.

snow-dyeing5 snow-dyeing6

Leave to melt. I left it for a few hours and thought I had left it too long but it turned out spectacularly!

Rinse under cold water first to remove the soda ash then wash in hot water. I wash all my fabrics together (all different colours) in the washing machine with 1-2 capfuls of Synthropol.

And you’re left with this……

~

151_2-cranberry-snowdye

Oh my gosh……I’m in love with dyeing even more….how could that be!

I’ll be adding a half yard of this to my Esty shop. Well I do have to keep half of it for myself, can’t I?

See ya next time “In the Hayloft”,

8 Responses to Snow Indulgence

  1. jmquilts says:

    Oh my goodness that is so cool!! (pardon the pun!) The fabric came out so beautiful. How could you ever stand that waiting for ice to melt! LOL

  2. gracehowes says:

    I really didn’t do too well there, I must have gone out to check it about 10 times muttering to myself….”is it ready yet?….is it ready yet?

    Because I was following loose directions I didn’t know the end point so I guessed. Not bad huh?

    Will experiment more so that we can duplicate results at my annual dye party in July.

  3. Karoda says:

    Grace, as beautiful as the fabric is, anything that involves snow leaves me cold ;0 I know, I know, corny joke.

  4. kathy says:

    Grace, that’s a lovely piece of cloth…great job.

  5. Thanks Kathy,

    I dye in my garage (cold, cold place) and that’s why I have to wait while the little winter snow we might get all melts…bummer. Must use the freezer method when temps warm up a bit.

  6. Gloria Edinger says:

    Great affect…I never get snow (FL) and think this is the way I’ll do it too. I had thought of snow cone ice and my fridge doesn’t crush it quite enough. Now I will use the smoothie maker too. Thank you for sharing.

  7. Wil says:

    I love snow- and icedyeing too. For that same reason I bought a snow cone machine. Was I tempting fate? I don’t know. Usually we get one day maybe 2 inches of snow here in the Netherlands. This winter we have had snow since the second part of December.
    Another technique is to put your soda soaked fabric in the freezer. Take it out the next day and pour dye mixture over it.

  8. Fulvia says:

    I bow to your resourcefulness, my friend–very impressive. I still think the gizmo should be used at the same time for its intended original purpose … expect me soon!

Leave a Reply

