Collage Mania

fiberartforacausesma

One of my goals this year is two-fold…to push myself to make more art quilts and put my work and my name out there….scary though it may seem at times.

To that end, last month I created a piece for the Deltas of Charlotte’s Silent Auction called “It Takes a Village“. I also knew I wanted to put a few pieces in Collage Mania this year as this is the last year it will be held.

Collage Mania 2009, a Fiberart For A Cause online fundraiser for the American Cancer Society, was founded by Virginia Speigel, an artist whose father survived colon cancer.

In trying to find a way to give more, Virginia started by raising some extra funds with a 7 postcards. That blossomed in hundreds of postcards over the last 3 years.

To date, Fiberart For A Cause has donated over $165,000 to the American Cancer Society. This year Virginia wants to raise $20,000 to top her record last year of $13,000. In order to do that she has opened it up to include not only postcard sized pieces but any collages up to 8″x10″ size.

Since I’m not a postcard type of gal, the slightly larger format worked well for me. Here are the four I donated.

Faith

Faith

~

Believe

Believe

The background fabric of each collage is one of my hand dyed fabrics I screen printed and stamped. I then played with strips of fabric and paper to create each piece, then finished off with some free-motion machine quilting.

Each collage  is stamped with a word that represents the power within all of us to preserver through the worst of times, even when we feel the need to give up.

Faith…..Believe…..Release…..Trust.

Release

Release

~

Trust

Trust

This year Collage Mania will be held May 5-7th. Patrons are asked to bid on collages donated by a wonderful community of  fiber and mixed-media artists.

May 5th is Gold Donor Day where there is a minimum donation of $80.

May 5th – 7th, which is Regular Collage Mania, the minimum donation for a collage is $40.

To Donate

Cancer, at some point, touches all out lives. Please consider making a donation in honor of someone close to you who has been touched by this disease.

Bookmark the Collage Mania page and revisit the site on one of the above dates. You will be a very proud owner of a wonderful piece of art by those artist willing to give a little bit of themselves for a very worthy cause.

Each of my collages is dedicated in memory of my Aunt Cynthia, who died from cancer in 2007.

See ya next time “In the Hayloft”,

7 Responses to Collage Mania

  1. annflaherty says:

    Beautiful and inspirational! Thank you!!!

  2. Francine says:

    These are beautiful Grace! I’m sure Aunty Cynthie is smiling 🙂

  3. Grace – Thank you for donating your artwork to Collage Mania! It should be quite the art extravaganza! Warm regards, V.

  4. Jamie Fingal says:

    I love the colors and designs for your entries for Collage Mania. Just beautiful and full of life.

  5. delanequilts says:

    Your work is lovely. Very thought provoking and deep. I like them very much.

  6. Susan says:

    These are marvelous! Love them.

  7. […] recent post of mine showed the 4 art quilts I made for Collage Mania, a great fund raising effort for the American Cancer Society, organized by Virginia […]

Leave a Reply

