Gallery Opening Reception

art of cloth

I am so pleased with the very successful gallery showing we had Friday night. Jean, DeLane, Christine, Judy and I had a blast!

It was the first showing for most of us and we are very proud of the work we accomplished. It was a bit strange watching people walk around looking at our work and actually discussing what caught their eye, knowing that I was part of what they had come to see. I was absolutely fascinated by the fact that people wanted to see AND actually showed up to see our art.

Thank you to everyone who came out to cheers us on and thanks also to all the well wishers who couldn’t make it, we felt your love and support from far away.

Now I suppose you want to see some pics huh? I have to tell you that I didn’t get many pics (was too busy looking around and talking) so there are only a few.

Well, as they say, on with the show….

jean wall

Some of Jean’s work…..as she describes her work, it’s a twist on the traditional….

~

delane wall

Pieces from Delane….and her feet quilt got quite a bit of attention. It’s fantastic close up…..

~

christine wall

Christines work…wish I got a close-up of the piece on the right…it a great landscape with lots of depth…..

~

judy wall

Judy’s pieces reflect nature in it’s finest, the black and white is a large painted one….

~

my wall w fam

I rarely show pics of my family but this is the only one where you can see my work.I will head back to the gallery in a few days to take some more pics. It was hard trying to get some good ones that night cause I either forgot to click away or couldn’t get a good enough angle.

My art quilts are in the background and the journals I am way too crazy about these days are on a pedestal in front of me. And of course, you can see the outfit I finally chose to wear….everyone said it looked very “arty”. Colours were definitely me.

BTW, that’s hubby, my daughter and my youngest son in the pic. Oldest son had disappeared to somewhere else by then.

RRchallenge

The Round Robin (RR) Challenge….this RR was a little bit different. We each cut up a 24 x 36 sheet into what ever shape we chose but only containing 5 pieces. Then the whole thing rotated and each person made a section. We did not have to put it back together the same way and you can see that DeLane (the jacket) and I (lower right corner) chose to use our sections in……let’s say, different ways. Love how each piece turned out.

jean doll delane jacket

Jean’s doll “Rose” from the doll challenge and a close-up of DeLane’s challenge jacket from the RR challenge….

~

guests

And some the the guest mingling around.

The show will be hanging at Lincoln Cultural Center till July 3rd so please take a moment to go and see it. If you so choose to travel from afar to see out work then by all means come on down…hee hee.

Will be posting more pics son, I’d like to show more close-ups of our work. Thanks for stopping by.

~

~

See ya next time “In the Hayloft”,

addendum: does anyone know how to get the pics to enlarge when you click on them…there seems to be no ryhme or reason why my pics are sometime clickable in my posts. The pics in this post are not unfortunately.

5 Responses to Gallery Opening Reception

  1. mystele says:

    that was fun! i’m so happy for you and the other ladies. i wish i could have seen everything up close. and, i had no idea our families share the same joy of blended cultures. your little boy looks a lot like my oldest!

  2. grace says:

    Thanks Mystele. I’ve been so busy leading up to this that I have so many blog posts (over 400) to catch up on, so I’ll be checking out what you’ve been up to.

    Yeh, I’ve always been a bit hesitant to post pics of family, especially the kids but every once in a while they pop up in my blog.

  3. Sue says:

    Congratulations! It looks like a great show.

  4. Grace, congrats on the show! It looks fantastic, and you look really artsy and happy!

    I love the saying you made to hang in your studio– what a great idea. You rocked red shoes at your opening, whether you actually wore some (with green jacket? why not?!!) or just emotionally wore some! Way to go, my friend!
    Susan

  5. grace says:

    Thanks Susan. We had so much fun that night watching everyone enjoy our artwork. At the same time it was a bit weird as well knowing that they were talking about and enjoying my work.

    Yeh, I get to look at my RED shoes all the time and be inspired.

Leave a Reply

