Stepping out of the Shadow

shadow2

Yesterday, my son lamented the trials and tribulations of life as an 8 yr old. Someone was “being mean” and calling one of his friends yucky names.

He came to his friend’s defense but then retreated when he realized the spotlight was now on him for rightly speaking up. I talked him thru that but the conversation tossed around in my head for a while about how we as adults deal with similar situations…till this morning.

I don’t always get a chance to check out Christine Kane’s blog but it seems when I need clarification on random thoughts rolling round in my head, her post of the day puts things into perspective.

In her latest post, “Standing Out and Standing In“, she talks about stepping into one’s own light and not letting the darkness of another encroach on one’s own ability to shine.

Standing out……by standing IN!

When we do good and someone’s compliment makes us feel uncomfortable or, even worse, someone making us feel bad because we did good, we tend to want to retreat, to step out of the spotlight and make excuses for our good behavior, like my son did.

Instead what we need to do is to feel proud of our accomplishments, our good deeds. Here’s how Christine describes it…

‘When we “Stand Out,” or when we “step out” into what we want (to be), what we’re actually doing is moving deeper inward. In fact, I’d wager to say that the inward movement is required in order to hold our center.

So, it might look like Standing Out. In the spotlight, into clarity, in a bigger playing field.

But what you’re really doing is Standing In. Deeper within yourself. Centering your intentions. Grounded in awareness.Few people understand this.  Few people ever discover that this is the ultimate reward of standing out.’

flowers in mug

So another lessson for me AND my son

…to remember to stand out by standing in

…to remain steadfast in what our hearts contain

…to be true to ourselves thru all the madness and strife that others choose to bring to our doorstep and,

….to know that all the good, positive things we do will always far outweigh the negativity that abounds.

~

See ya next time “In the Hayloft”,


4 Responses to Stepping out of the Shadow

  1. Karoda says:

    I needed to read this, this morning! the very fact that your 8 y.o. son’s natural instinct was to speak out against injustice shines hope on my day! tell him thank you!

  2. Nancy G Cook says:

    Grace, thanks for sharing. A new name for me, Christine Kane. I will look for it again. Nancy

  3. grace says:

    Thanks Karoda and Nancy. I’m often impressed (and pleased) with the sensitivy my young son shows.

  4. Wonderful thoughts beautifully expressed, Grace. Love that kid!

Leave a Reply

