The Swap Zine is done!

lineuppic

It’s HERE! Yippee!

My first zine is finished and on it’s way for the zine swap.  Soon I will be swimming in zines…well..maybe only 10 of them but a happy day that will be. I’ll probably maul the mailman as he drives by.

I have followed Alma Stoller’s blog for about a year now and she kept talking bout this “zine” thing. This past July she put a call out to all zine-sters, new and old and I decided to just jump right in. How hard can it be…right? (famous last words indeed).

Let me go back and do wiki def for you.  A zine (pronounced zeen) is a small self-published booklet. It’s an opportunity for the maker to explore a topic, express feelings, encourage, share, educate and, especially, connect with others.

closeup

So off I went to create. It took a while for me to come up with my topic but, in the end, I kept coming back to the same thing.

I call it “the Inner Eye”, that something deep inside of us that helps us bring forth our art.

So my zine is a little inspiration to propell you along your art-y way.

One of the things we were to include in the zine is an interview. Only problem was….I couldn’t choose just one person.

That’s when the idea for a series of interviews took hold. I preppagesasked a few of my quilt artist friends to answer a few questions and included some answers from each of them.

I chose to call them “Inner-views” (remember the name of my zine—“The Inner Eye”),

because  these words are the innermost thoughts and perspectives about how each artist’s soul manifest itself through her art and throughout her life. paintedcovers2

Each page is created separately using the cut and paste method, then photocopied to make the 10 zines. painted covers

To paint the covers, I spritzed water on poster boards and then washed in two of my fav colours….red and golden yellow to create the 2-colour cover.

Included in each zine are bits of inspiration, articles, projects, exercises, the “inner-views” (of course) and a bag of yummy extra bits.

This zine was a labour (NO KIDDING!) of love. I so enjoyed writing the articles and designing the layout for each page. I made a few extra of them to put in my etsy shop so YOU too can have one to enjoy as well.  When I get my parcel of zine goodyness, I’ll post the pics of them.

~

See ya next time “In the Hayloft”,

One Response to The Swap Zine is done!

  1. Karoda says:

    you’re always doing something cool!!!!

Leave a Reply

