Sneek Peak…Twice!

Last night, busy in my studio, I decided to take a computer break. As usual, I got caught up and before you know it, I had spent almost 25 minutes online (considering I just went there to refresh my memory on a photo I had taken…mmmph!).

I stretch, after having sat there for so long, look over and see this red blob on my floor,

and realize that there’s a barely perceptible whizzing noise coming from the blob as well.  Now what do you think this can be?

Of course the first thing any sane person does in this type of situation is….grab  the camera, of course (duh!).

First things first, earlier in the afternoon I was helping my son with his homework. We finished and he left the room to repack his book bag. I then began to wonder what little gift he set up for me.

So with camera in hand I step closer to reveal my gift (can you see it yet??????).

And what to her wondering eyes should appear (yeh I know, must still be in the mind for Christmas)…

~

…but a little boy – fast asleep.  Awww shucks…isn’t that the best gift?

BTW, the big round thing under the blanket is my exercise ball.

Don’t ask.

ART BREAK:

In a few weeks, the art group I belong to (fiberartoptions.blogspot.com)  will have a fiber art orchid exhibition at the Daniel Stowe Botanical Garden in Belmont, NC. We are so excited. So for the past few weeks I have been hard at work finishing all my pieces. Here’s a sneak peak at another one of them.

I’ve tried something totally new for me and have hand painted this one using acrylic paint on Pimatex cotton, with Gac 900 as the textile medium (yah me!)

Using Golden Gac 900 with their line of fluid acrylics (instead of regular textile medium) gives the fabric a softer hand than even using Jacquard textile paint, which is what I started with.  The area at the bottom right (painted with Jacquard and medium) is much harder, almost like paper, than the rest of the piece.

I think I’m in love…with Golden products that is.

~

Leave a Reply

